Understanding the Zodiac Planets

Zodiac planets are ruling planets that are associated with zodiac signs. Very many people know their sun signs and the elements associated with the signs. But, how many people know that zodiac signs are ruled by zodiac planets too? 

Astrology teaches us that our zodiac signs correspond to constellations of stars, yet the planets of the solar system are much closer to us than the collection of our zodiac signs. This means that the ruling planets have a big influence over us. 

In other words, the ruling planets of every zodiac sign represent foundational characteristics about us. Read on to learn more about these signs.

Understanding the Zodiac Planets
Image Source: Tek Deeps

The Zodiac Planets

The 8 zodiac planets in our solar system influence how the zodiac signs affect us through our behavior and how we interact with others. They can also predict what our careers can become based on our strengths. 

These zodiac planets are mercury, the moon, Venus, the sun, Jupiter, Mars, Uranus, and Saturn. Let us look at how they are linked with each zodiac sign below.

Aries (March 21 – April 19)

Mars is the planet of action and courage, and is also the god of war. This explains why Aries has a drive and determination that is backed by courage and fire. An Aries is always the first to take on a challenge and will lead others to victory.

Taurus (April 20 – May 20)

Venus is considered the planet of money and love. These two things are on the list of needs that will make a Taurus stable and feel inspired. A Taurus is known to love pleasurable, luscious, soft, and expensive things. 

Gemini (May 21 – June 20)

Mercury is the communication planet, and it is no doubt that people who have the Gemini sign love to talk, share ideas, thoughts, philosophy, and mysteries. Note that Mercury also rules nonverbal communication, consciousness, and technology.

Cancer (June 21 – July 22)

The moon represents our emotions, water, femininity, and the darkness that resides within us. Cancers naturally are fillers and are in touch with their emotions. This can get uncomfortably intense, sometimes.

Leo (July 23 – August 22)

Isn’t the sun the center of our galaxy? This explains why people who have the Leo sign loves to be the shining and brilliant center of attention. Given that the sun rules ego, will, and self-expression, a Leo is a master of all of them.

Virgo (August 23 – September 22)

Mercury is the ruling planet for Virgo and Gemini. Virgo is known to be the scheduler, problem solver, and the most responsible and logical sign of the zodiac

Libra (September 23 – October 22)

Here is another sign that shares with Venus, yet with a totally different expression from Taurus. Libra is an air sign, and it is deeply committed to partnership and balance. 

Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)

Pluto is a planet which symbolizes deep transformation and is usually associated with the underworld, death, the subconscious, and the afterlife. A Scorpio has no fear of darkness and an emotional depth that lives in us.

Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)

Jupiter is the planet of growth and expansion and people who are Sagittarius love adventure, traveling, personal development, and spontaneity. Jupiter is also associated with good fortune and luck that is attributed to Sagittarius’ infectious positive energy.

Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)

Saturn is the planet of hard work, responsibility, discipline, and determination. While this seems to be the most boring collection of traits and adjectives, Capricorns also know how to play hard. 

Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)

Uranus is the revolutionary, the rebel and planet of innovation, originality, and expanded consciousness. Aquarius has a desire to speak up, and live against the grain.

Pisces (February 19 – March 20)

Understanding the Zodiac Planets
Image Source: Indastro

Neptune is the planet associated with the god of the seas and psychic awareness. The psychic, mystic, and magical Pisces soul is the oldest of the zodiac signs and represents imagination, dreams, wonderment and spirituality. 


Much as we love to know our zodiac signs and how they affect our personality, characteristics, and how we interact with others, we ought to understand the planets too.